Terror in Three Words

A recent question over at Reddit asked, “Can you Terrify Us in Just Three Words?”

Below, the top entries or ones that I found especially terrifying (with the really sick ones, sadly abundant, removed for family friendliness).

Search History Subpoena
You Tested Positive
No Toilet Paper
Frenulum Papercut Extravaganza [1]
Nuclear Launch Detected
We Should Talk
You’ll Never Retire
Wow, That’s Small
Continuous Kidney Stones
Everyone Dies Alone
Look Behind You
My Office. Now.
You’re Being Audited
Digital Rights Management
President Kim Kardashian
You Have Cancer
Nutella Was Discontinued
Amy’s Baking Company
No More Bacon [2]
Winter is Coming [3]
President Sarah Palin

I’d have to agree, most of these are downright terrifying. I’m reminded of Hemingway’s bleak short story: “For sale, baby shoes. Never worn;” also, the shortest horror story ever written: “The last man on earth sat alone in a room. There was a knock on the door.”

It was interesting to see what people consider terrifying.

The Old Wolf has spoken.


[1] Ouch! I’ve done my tongue on an envelope, but never this.

[2] One of the most terrifying of all

[3] I’m not a Game of Thrones fan – I’ve neither seen nor read it – but at least I recognized this.

2 responses to “Terror in Three Words

Leave a Reply

