Lookit me, Ma – I’m wavin’!

On July 19, 2013, the Cassini spacecraft took advantage of a total eclipse of the sun from behind Saturn to turn its camera back toward Earth. This particular event was publicized in time for people to turn out and wave at the camera, the first time that people on Earth knew ahead of time that their picture would be taken from space.

I waved from my car… if I look hard enough, I think I can see us on the road between Spanish Fork and Payson. 

earth-moon-photo-saturn-2013-annotated

The Earth and the moon from Cassini, beyond the orbit of Saturn. (Click for full resolution – the moon is about one pixel in this image)

cassini-earth-moon-look-bac\

Enhanced view of Earth and Moon

The Old Wolf has spoken.

One response to “Lookit me, Ma – I’m wavin’!

Leave a Reply

