An Open Letter to Upworthy

Note: Read the article, but read the comments below as well. Upworthy really stepped up to the plate on this one.

Dear guys and gals at Upworthy,

A lot of the things you post on your website are really interesting. However, two points I would like to bring to your attention:

1) Cool it with the popups asking me if I want to create an account.

popup\

All up in my browser. This is ruddy annoying, and its only effect is to make me want to look elsewhere for my interesting news. As if that wasn’t bad enough, I get this before I can leave the page:

Popup2

It’s more Facebook’s fault than yours, but it irks me that you know who my friends are and who has liked your page, especially given my maxed-out privacy settings.

Don’t do this. It’s annoying and counterproductive.

2) I noticed that there’s absolutely no way to contact you with feedback, except a page on your Tumblr interface. And in order to leave a comment there, I have to subscribe and give you my email address. Screw whole bunches of that. Hence this open letter.

No love,

The Old Wolf

4 responses to “An Open Letter to Upworthy

  1. Hi there, I work for Upworthy. Thanks for taking the time to write out this candid feedback. It’s immensely helpful for us to read.

    1a) On the popups: Have you tried clicking the “Don’t show again.” links on them? Once clicked, they’re supposed to suppress those popups in the future. If they’re not working for you, that’s a bug we need to look into. Or if you didn’t notice them, we’ll work on improving their prominence.

    1b) On the Facebook friends module: We actually don’t know who your friends are on Facebook. What you’re seeing is called an iframe; it’s a way for us to embed a little bit of the Facebook.com website into our webpage. It’s like a small window into Facebook.com that’s embedded on our page. Facebook never tells us who you are, or who your friends are. Here’s more info:

    https://developers.facebook.com/docs/reference/plugins/like/

    If we wanted that information, we’d need to ask you to opt-in using Facebook Connect, which we don’t do.

    2) Yes, this is a major oversight on our part. Instructions for contacting us are on our About page, but they’re hard to find. Based on your feedback, I created a dedicated Contact page and linked to it in the footer throughout the site:

    http://www.upworthy.com/contact

    Again, thank you for this. If you have more feedback, please send it our way.

    Lots of love,

    Luigi
    Founding Engineer, Upworthy

    • Dear Luigi,

      I’m not sure if you truly understand the impact it has when a corporate rep actually takes the time to read, digest, and ponder comments from users. It means you’re actively scouring the net for feedback, good and bad, that might make a difference in how you run things… and that’s rare.

      To borrow a page from a competing site,

      Thanks for taking the time to respond, and for considering my input.

      Huge respect from The Old Wolf

  2. Pingback: An Upvote for Upworthy | Playing in the World Game

  3. Pingback: Do as I say, not as I do | Playing in the World Game

Leave a Reply

