It’s not all black and white

iP3JdHP

This sad stone is the memorial of a woman whose real name was Kate Simpson.

A volunteer paid for a marker to be placed at her grave in September 1997, bearing the inscription:

Kate McCormick
Seduced and pregnant by her father’s friend,
unwed, she died from abortion, her only choice.
Abandoned in life and death by family.
With but a single rose from her mother.
Buried only through the kindness of unknown benefactors.
Died Feb.1875 age 21.

Victim of an unforgiving society
Have mercy on us.

I am not ready to get into a full-blown essay regarding my thoughts on abortion. The issues, for me, are too close and personal, and it would take more time than I have available to get everything sorted out in words that I’m happy with. But this little bit I can share for now:

4612928392_4a31e44efe_o

Regardless of what I believe personally, we must never return to a place where women are given no choice but to endanger their own lives, because of laws made by a body overwhelmingly populated by men who will never have to face the choices about which they are legislating. That place makes no sense at all.

The Old Wolf has spoken.

Leave a comment